The Ten Fetters (Samyojana) bind us to samsara.

1. Belief in a separate personality or individuality (drishti)

2. Doubt that has no desire for satisfaction (vichikitsa)

3. Uncritical attachment to rules and rituals (silabbata-paramasa)

4. Sensuous craving (kama-raga)

5. Ill will, wishing harm on others (vyapada)

6. Craving for a higher material existence (rupa-raga)

7. Craving for non-material existence (arupa-raga)

8. Conceit or egotism (mana)

9. Restlessness (udhacca)

10. Ignorance (avidya)